The EUYO - promoting the EU's ideals for over 40 years

The European Community Youth Orchestra (later to become the European Union Youth Orchestra) was founded in 1976 by Lionel Bryer and Joy Bryer, respectively the Chairman and Secretary General of the International Youth Foundation of Great Britain, together with founding Music Director Claudio Abbado and the UK politician Sir Edward Heath, with a view to creating an Orchestra which would represent the European ideal of a community working together to achieve peace and social understanding. At the same time it was also designed to provide an invaluable professional development experience for young orchestral musicians.

Since its inception it has received the support of the European Parliament and the European Commission with major financial support and political backing. The EUYO's Honorary President is the President of the European Parliament and its Honorary Patrons are the Heads of State and Prime Ministers of each of the EU member states, headed by the President of the European Commission. The EUYO is unique for a number of reasons, not least because it is the only orchestra in the world to have been formed through a vote in Parliament and represent every single one of the 27 EU Member States.

Landmark Moments in the History of the EU and the EUYO

1957 - The six EU founding countries sign the Treaty of Rome creating the European Economic Community (EEC).
1974 - The proposal for the creation of the Orchestra is put forward by Baroness Elles MEP to the Committee on Cultural Affairs and Youth of the European Parliament.
1976 - The Orchestra is founded on 8 March by Joy and Lionel Bryer, following a resolution adopted by the European Parliament. On 22 April the European Commission confirms the official Patronage of the Orchestra.
1978 - Inaugural tour conducted by Founding Music Director Claudio Abbado, to Amsterdam, Bonn, Paris, Luxembourg, Brussels, Milan and Rome.
1980 - Herbert von Karajan conducts the Orchestra in Salzburg with soloist Anne-Sophie Mütter.
1981 - EUYO performs under the baton of Daniel Barenboim.
1982 - Tour to Mexico.
1984 - Tour to China and Hong Kong.
1985 - Tour to Japan with conductor Leonard Bernstein and soprano Barbara Hendricks.
1986 - The Single European Act passed.
1988 - Tour to USA performing in New York, Washington D.C. and Boston.
1989 - Tour to India with Zubin Mehta.
1992 - “Maastricht” Treaty established the title “EU” on 7 February.
1991 - Tour to Russia.
1994 - Bernard Haitink appointed as the ECYO’s Music Director succeeding Claudio Abbado, and the following year, mirroring the changes in the EU, the ECYO becomes the EUYO (European Union Youth Orchestra).
1996 - South American tour to celebrate the Mercosur Treaty with conductor Vladimir Ashkenazy.
1998 - EUYO performs at the World Economic Forum with Iván Fischer.
2000 - Vladimir Ashkenazy succeeds Bernard Haitink as the EUYO’s Music Director.
2004 - The Orchestra returns to Brazil to celebrate the city of São Paulo’s 450th anniversary.
2008 - Tour to Japan, China and Korea.
2010 - EUYO performs at Shanghai Expo.
2012 - Second tour to USA including performances at Carnegie Hall and the Kennedy Center.
2013 - EUYO goes to Malta, the last EU country in which EUYO had not yet been performing. Co-Founder Joy Bryer appointed as the Orchestra’s President. Launch of the “Great Europeans” Award, with Polish composer Witold Lutosławski as the first recipient.
2014 - Tour to Abu Dhabi, launch of the European Music Campus in partnership with Grafenegg.
2014 - The EUYO, with its 8 international Partners and 30 Associates, awarded co-funding by the European Union’s ‘Creative Europe’ cultural funding programme for the first phase of its project: ‘Towards 2020: Skilling Musicians & Engaging Audiences in Europe’s Orchestral Sector’ (T2020).
2015 - Vasily Petrenko appointed as Chief Conductor of the EUYO. Bernard Haitink CH, KBE, becomes Conductor Laureate of the EUYO. Continuation of Global Exchange Programme for the EUYO players. EUYO debut for the Orchestra's first woman conductor, Xian Zhang.                                                                            
2016 - 40th anniversary tour 'Capital Sounds' in celebration of the Orchestra's founding. Vasily Petrenko gives his first concerts as the EUYO’s new Chief Conductor and Bernard Haitink conducts the Orchestra as recently appointed Conductor Laureate.           
2017 - Vasily Petrenko returns as Chief Conductor for 2017 Summer Tour Spirit of the North, leading six major concerts in performances which focus on and celebrate music from the Baltic and Nordic countries of Europe. 2017 also sees the start of the 3 year China EU Experience Europe campaign with a group of EUYO players rehearsing and performing alongside Shanghai Orchestra Academy. 
2018 - EUYO establishes a new legal seat in Rome and a new headquarters in Ferrara in partnership with the Italian Ministry of Culture, the Municipality of Ferrara, and RAI, and is appointed resident orchestra at Grafenegg. The Orchestra receives 2 awards: the European Orchestra Award in Dresden from the European Culture Awards TAURUS 2018, and a Cultural Diplomat of the Year Award at the Abu Dhabi Culture Summit. In celebration of the 2018 European Year of Cultural Heritage, 2018 includes performances in fourteen countries throughout Europe, South America, the Middle East and Asia, with residencies in Bolzano, Ferrara, Grafenegg, Dubai and Shanghai.