Online première of the Concert for the Future of Venice

28/10/2021 - The European Union Youth Orchestra is delighted to announce the streaming of its concert held in Venice’s Basilica del Santissimo Redentore on the occasion of the European Cultural Heritage Summit 2021 organized by Europa Nostra.

The concert’s focal point was the world première of Floating Autumn, a recomposition of Vivaldi’s Autumn  by the young Italian composer Carmen Fizzarotti as part of The [Uncertain] Four Seasons, a global project of AKQA and Jung von Matt, in partnership with composer Hugh Crosthwaite and Monash University's Climate Change Communication Research Hub, using climate data and AI to recompose Vivaldi's 'The Four Seasons' to reflect the environmental changes in a post-climate change world.

The [Uncertain] Four Seasons is the result of a musical design system that uses computer modelling to algorithmically generate countless local variations of Vivaldi's original 1725 composition for different cities across the world. The algorithm alters the musical score to account for the predicted changes in rainfall, biodiversity, sea-level rise, and extreme weather events as laid out in the IPCC's reports.

To portray a future where the world has failed to act decisively on global warming, The [Uncertain] Four Seasons aims to persuade world leaders to act decisively at the United Nations Climate Change Conference COP26 next week.


Online Concert Première

1 November | 20.30 CET

The November 1st stream will see the EUYO performance, including readings and speeches by EUYO Secretary General Marshall Marcus, Europa Nostra Secretary general Sneška Quaedvlieg–Mihailović, the Italian writer and journalist Alberto Toso Fei and composer Carmen Fizzarotti.

The performance of Floating Autumn, with Laura Marzadori as solo violin, will be prefaced by 17 Strokes of the Bell for Sustainability, a piece premiered at the Rome 2019 Sustainability Conference, in which the 17 Sustainable Development Goals of the UN’s 2030 Agenda will be heard interwoven into the music. The concert will include music by the great trio of Venetian composers: Claudio Monteverdi, Giovanni Gabrieli and Antonio Vivaldi.

The broadcast will start simultaneously at 20.30 CET on the EUYO, Europa Nostra and The [Uncertain] Four Seasons YouTube channels. EUYO Creative Partner RAI will also broadcast the concert in full on the Italian Radio 3 Classica at the same time.




COP26 Resilience Hub

4 November | 19.00-21.00 CET

The EUYO concert will be part of a 1-hour film that will be premièred on November 4th as part of the Resilience Hub in the Glasgow Caledonian University, a physical and virtual Hub at COP26 and the home of the UNFCCC’s Race to Resilience that is driving action by non-state actors, showcasing the partner initiatives.

The film will also be livestreamed via the Resilience Hub portal online, and will be visible to anyone that will register at the Resilience Hub virtual event space, where over 100 events, activities and networking opportunities will take place during the two weeks of the COP26 Climate Conference, hosted from the Blue Zone in Glasgow, and by regional Hubs around the globe.

The [Uncertain] Four Seasons streamed performance aims to help persuade leaders to sign the Leaders Pledge for Nature and commit to reversing biodiversity loss by 2030 and is officially a supporter of the UN’s ActNow campaign, a global call to individual action on climate change and sustainability.


COP26 Youth & Public Empowerment day

At the start of the Youth and Public Empowerment Day at COP26 on November 5th 2021, The [Uncertain] Four Seasons will release the full series of concerts by the 14 orchestras from across 6 continents via a unique online experience, including the EUYO performance from Venice.

The release date has been chosen to coincide with the Youth & Public Empowerment Day at the COP26, aiming to elevate the voice of young people and demonstrating the critical role of public empowerment and education in climate action.