Paula Sanz Alasà

Paula was born in Mallorca, Spain. She studied at the Conservatori Superior de Música de les Illes Balears with José Manuel Álvarez Losada and Agustín León Ara, obtaining the Extraordinary Bachelor Award. She then moved to London and studied at the Royal College of Music with Yossi Zivoni and Gabrielle Lester, where she finished with First Class Distinction. Paula is currently studying an Artist Diploma at the Scola di Musica di Fiesole with Lorenza Borrani and a Master in Historical Performance with Manfredo Kraemer and Alba Roca at ESMUC, Barcelona.

At a young age, she won competitions that gave her the opportunity to perform as a soloist with different youth orchestras. Paula is passionate about chamber music and has been part of numerous groups performing in well-known venues as the Wigmore Hall in London. She is currently a member of the European Chamber Ensemble.

At the present time, she is working with the Haydn Philharmonie, touring with this orchestra across the globe. She is in the Chamber Orchestra of Europe Academy and since summer 2019, Paula is the concertmaster of the EUYO. Before that, she was Principal Second Violin of this orchestra and received the “Lionel Bryer Memorial Fund Award”. These opportunities allowed her to be concertmaster in halls like the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, the Konzerthaus in Berlin and the most important venues of countries like Canada, Cuba and all Europe, receiving remarkable reviews.

It is important to highlight her role as concertmaster at the JONDE, JONC and the different orchestras of the Royal College of Music. For three years Paula was in the Academy of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra. She has participated in several projects with Spira mirabilis and currently collaborates with various orchestras and ensembles as the OSCYL among others. Since 2018 she is part of the Orquestra de Cadaqués.

These orchestras have given her the opportunity to work with prestigious conductors like Peter Eötvös, Gianandrea Noseda, Manfred Honeck, Vasily Petrenko, Stéphane Denève, Marin Alsop, Iván Fischer, Daniel Harding or Bernard Haitink among others.